Seafood pizza (step by step)

So a while ago, I made a homemade pizza for the first time. It was delicious.

I used a recipe for pizza dough from the Food Networks Magazine March 2011.

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon sugar

1/4 ounce packet yeast (7 g or 2 1/4 teaspoon)

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil. plus more for brushing

3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

As for the topping you can put on anything you want, but you will probably need marinara sauce (homemade or bought) and cheese.

For my pizza I made a quick marinara sauce and took out a bag of assorted seafood out of the fridge. I cooked the fish with some seasoning and put it on top of the marinara.

Here we go!

Whisk 1 3/4 cups warm water (105 F or 40 C) and sugar in a bowl. Sprinkle yeast on top, set aside until foamy. After it has become foamy, stir in the olive oil. Be aware: don't use water that's too hot, it will kill the yeast. My dough failed the second time I wanted to make this. 😦

Whisk flour and salt in a large bowl, make a well in the center and pour in the yeast mixture.

Gradually stir to make a rough dough. Okay, the recipe says use a wooden spoon... but whatever, I have a kitchenrobot who can do the work for me right?

action shot

Voila! We have a rough dough.

Now knead your dough for about 5 min on a floured surface until smooth and elastic, dusting with flour if necessary. I used the dough hook and the Kitchen Aid instead of my hands.

This is how it looked after a couple of minutes.

Make two balls of dough. Brush two large bowls with olive oil, and add a dough ball in each. Cover with plastic wrap and let it rise until doubled in size, it will take about 1,5 hour. They say set aside at room temperature, that really does not work for me, with all yeast recipes. I guess it is really cold here. But to let my dough rise, I will turn on the oven to 75 C (170 F), turn it off once it hit the right temperature and put my bowls with dough in the oven.

You see? It works.

Roll out or wrap in plastic wrap and freeze.

sauce

Top off as desired. As you may have noticed, I forgot the cheese. It is usally under your topping and above your sauce.

Doesn's matter, taste is the same.

YUMMY!!!

Enjoy your pizza

Leave a Reply

